The Revenue Department functions with the following broad objectives:

  1. Providing efficient delivery of services of various Government schemes to the people of Tamil Nadu.
  2. Providing relief and implementing rehabilitation measures for those affected by Natural Calamities.
  3. Functioning as the custodian of Government lands and ensuring proper maintenance of land records for the State.
  4. Implementation of Land Reforms and providing land to the needy and eligible persons.

The department serves the needs of farmers, students, unemployed, weaker sections, entrepreneurs and Industry by providing a range of services like issuing a wide range of certificates essential for accessing a host of services and benefits ranging from credit, scholarships, community registration, birth and death registration, legal-heirs, income status, mutations of land records, licences etc. In addition, Revenue and Disaster Management Department plays a vital role in the conduct of Elections under the superintendence of the Election Commission of India.

Since its inception, Revenue and Disaster Management Department has often taken the lead during crises, be it man-made or natural disasters. Revenue and Disaster Management Department reaches out to all during disasters and plays a critical role in organizing rescue, relief, rehabilitation and resettlement to the needy. The department has since been renamed by the Government of Tamil Nadu as Revenue and Disaster Management Department acknowledging the centrality of the Department in the entire gamut of operations in disaster Management.

For the sake of administration Chengalpattu district has been divided into three revenue divisions each functioning under the administrative leadership of a Sub Collector/ Revenue Divisional Officer who is also the Sub divisional Magistrate of the division vested with magisterial powers to deal with law and order situations affecting the division.

 1. Chengalpattu Revenue Division.

The Chengalpattu Revenue Division comprises three taluks viz, Chengalpattu, Thiruporur and Thirukazhukundram, each functioning under a Tahsildar.

2. Maduranthakam Revenue Division.

The Maduranthakam Revenue Division comprises two taluks viz, Maduranthakam and Cheyyur.

3. Tambaram Revenue Division.

The Tambaram Revenue Division comprises three taluks viz, Tambaram, Pallavaram and Vandalur. In so far as the police administration is concerned, the taluks of Tambaram and Pallavaram come under the control of the Chennai City Police.